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	<title>Comments for How much is that Eyeball in the Window?</title>
	<atom:link href="http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/comments/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com</link>
	<description>Marketers want to get our attention, and are willing to pay for it.  But how much?  Let's try to figure it out.</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 11 Feb 2009 02:00:28 +0000</lastBuildDate>
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		<title>Comment on Superbowl XLIII TV Commercial CPM by peter_k_lee</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2009/02/03/superbowl-xliii-tv-commercial-cpm/#comment-302</link>
		<dc:creator>peter_k_lee</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 11 Feb 2009 02:00:28 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/?p=40#comment-302</guid>
		<description>Upon further examination, Nielson revised the viewership to 98.7 million making XLIII the most watched game in history.  This decreases the CPM to $30.40.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Upon further examination, Nielson revised the viewership to 98.7 million making XLIII the most watched game in history.  This decreases the CPM to $30.40.</p>
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		<title>Comment on Cubics ad network on Facebook by sarah</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2008/02/02/cubics-ad-network-on-facebook/#comment-301</link>
		<dc:creator>sarah</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 08 Feb 2009 10:10:01 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/?p=23#comment-301</guid>
		<description>Interesting!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Interesting!</p>
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		<title>Comment on Spokeo Sponsored Insertion.  Good Deal? by peter_k_lee</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2008/03/07/spokeo-sponsored-insertion-good-deal/#comment-291</link>
		<dc:creator>peter_k_lee</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 06:22:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/?p=28#comment-291</guid>
		<description>I would assume that an end-user of Spokeo has the ability to remove one or all or these Sponsored Insertions.  Assuming that&#039;s the case, the impressions per insertion should be calculated by the average lifetime of the end-user. 

For example, if on the average a user keeps a sponsored insertion for 2 month and user visits Spokeo once every weekday, i.e. 2 months x 22 days = 44 impressions.  Using your calculation, the CPM should be $0.05 / 44 * 1000 = $1.14.

The reason why this blog focuses on CPM is because pretty much all advertisers converts whatever pricing schemes back to CPM.  That&#039;s what they are used to and can do apples to apples comparison. 

Since an advertiser can only tell how many clickthrus happened, but have no idea how long an end-user keeps the inserted link (i.e. how many impressions were actually delivered), it&#039;s seems impossible for an advertiser to figure out how much they are really paying for the advertisement unless Spokeo starts providing reports.  I understand that you don&#039;t have any reports today.  That&#039;s fine.  I&#039;m a startup-guy as well and understand that very well :)</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I would assume that an end-user of Spokeo has the ability to remove one or all or these Sponsored Insertions.  Assuming that&#8217;s the case, the impressions per insertion should be calculated by the average lifetime of the end-user. </p>
<p>For example, if on the average a user keeps a sponsored insertion for 2 month and user visits Spokeo once every weekday, i.e. 2 months x 22 days = 44 impressions.  Using your calculation, the CPM should be $0.05 / 44 * 1000 = $1.14.</p>
<p>The reason why this blog focuses on CPM is because pretty much all advertisers converts whatever pricing schemes back to CPM.  That&#8217;s what they are used to and can do apples to apples comparison. </p>
<p>Since an advertiser can only tell how many clickthrus happened, but have no idea how long an end-user keeps the inserted link (i.e. how many impressions were actually delivered), it&#8217;s seems impossible for an advertiser to figure out how much they are really paying for the advertisement unless Spokeo starts providing reports.  I understand that you don&#8217;t have any reports today.  That&#8217;s fine.  I&#8217;m a startup-guy as well and understand that very well <img src='http://s.wordpress.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif' alt=':)' class='wp-smiley' /> </p>
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		<title>Comment on Spokeo Sponsored Insertion.  Good Deal? by Harrison</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2008/03/07/spokeo-sponsored-insertion-good-deal/#comment-290</link>
		<dc:creator>Harrison</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 08 Mar 2008 00:23:39 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/?p=28#comment-290</guid>
		<description>I ran across this blog post through Spokeo :P  I would just like to respectfully disagree with your math here.

First of all, Sponsored Insertion is NOT the same as an impression.  For an active subscriber, it&#039;s a constant, never-ending stream of impressions.  If you do the math for this active subscriber, the cost of Sponsored Insertion approaches to 0.  In the worst case that you&#039;ve pointed out here, if the user never checks your sponsored insertion, then the CPM is 50 dollars.

So on the one hand, you are paying $0 for these insertions; on the other, you are paying $50.  What&#039;s the real number?  To be perfectly, I don&#039;t know.  I do know, however, that our default insertion (Spokeo blog) right now gets more than 90% active usage.  That said, of course Spokeo users want to read the service announcement about Spokeo, so the number might be on the high side.  However, it should not deviate too much because we are limiting the number of these insertions to make your ads more effective.

Lastly, CPM is per impression.  I can refresh a page 100 times, and that&#039;s 100 impressions.   Our sponsored insertion is per &quot;unique user&quot;.  If the user keeps refreshing the page, the advertiser still pays the same rate.  As a result, I disagree with your analogy between sponsored insertion and CPM.

I think the closest thing to our sponsored insertion would be StumbleUpon Ad, which I&#039;ve used and found effectively before.  It costs 5 cents per view (more like click-through), and I like it much better than traditional banner ad that you know no one looks at.  Spokeo introduces advertisers&#039; new services to each individual user, just like StumbleUpon does, but Spokeo also subscribes our users to advertisers&#039; future updates.  This is why I pin our starting rate to the StumbleUpon ad rate.  And I think it&#039;s a fair rate to start with.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I ran across this blog post through Spokeo <img src='http://s.wordpress.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_razz.gif' alt=':P' class='wp-smiley' />   I would just like to respectfully disagree with your math here.</p>
<p>First of all, Sponsored Insertion is NOT the same as an impression.  For an active subscriber, it&#8217;s a constant, never-ending stream of impressions.  If you do the math for this active subscriber, the cost of Sponsored Insertion approaches to 0.  In the worst case that you&#8217;ve pointed out here, if the user never checks your sponsored insertion, then the CPM is 50 dollars.</p>
<p>So on the one hand, you are paying $0 for these insertions; on the other, you are paying $50.  What&#8217;s the real number?  To be perfectly, I don&#8217;t know.  I do know, however, that our default insertion (Spokeo blog) right now gets more than 90% active usage.  That said, of course Spokeo users want to read the service announcement about Spokeo, so the number might be on the high side.  However, it should not deviate too much because we are limiting the number of these insertions to make your ads more effective.</p>
<p>Lastly, CPM is per impression.  I can refresh a page 100 times, and that&#8217;s 100 impressions.   Our sponsored insertion is per &#8220;unique user&#8221;.  If the user keeps refreshing the page, the advertiser still pays the same rate.  As a result, I disagree with your analogy between sponsored insertion and CPM.</p>
<p>I think the closest thing to our sponsored insertion would be StumbleUpon Ad, which I&#8217;ve used and found effectively before.  It costs 5 cents per view (more like click-through), and I like it much better than traditional banner ad that you know no one looks at.  Spokeo introduces advertisers&#8217; new services to each individual user, just like StumbleUpon does, but Spokeo also subscribes our users to advertisers&#8217; future updates.  This is why I pin our starting rate to the StumbleUpon ad rate.  And I think it&#8217;s a fair rate to start with.</p>
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		<title>Comment on Facebook Flyers Pro experience by CPM for text ads on Mobile Web &#171; How much is that Eyeball in the Window?</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2007/11/05/facebook-flyers-pro-experience/#comment-248</link>
		<dc:creator>CPM for text ads on Mobile Web &#171; How much is that Eyeball in the Window?</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 06 Nov 2007 01:20:54 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2007/11/05/facebook-flyers-pro-experience/#comment-248</guid>
		<description>[...] How much is that Eyeball in the Window? Marketers want to get our attention, and are willing to pay for it. But how much? Let&#8217;s try to figure it out.      &#171; Facebook Flyers Pro&#160;experience [...]</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>[...] How much is that Eyeball in the Window? Marketers want to get our attention, and are willing to pay for it. But how much? Let&#8217;s try to figure it out.      &laquo; Facebook Flyers Pro&nbsp;experience [...]</p>
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		<title>Comment on Facebook &#8220;Flyers&#8221; priced at $2 CPM by Facebook Flyers Pro experience &#171; How much is that Eyeball in the Window?</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2007/10/12/facebook-flyers-priced-at-2-cpm/#comment-247</link>
		<dc:creator>Facebook Flyers Pro experience &#171; How much is that Eyeball in the Window?</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 05 Nov 2007 19:57:36 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2007/10/12/facebook-flyers-priced-at-2-cpm/#comment-247</guid>
		<description>[...] How much is that Eyeball in the Window? Marketers want to get our attention, and are willing to pay for it. But how much? Let&#8217;s try to figure it out.      &#171; Facebook &#8220;Flyers&#8221; priced at $2&#160;CPM [...]</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>[...] How much is that Eyeball in the Window? Marketers want to get our attention, and are willing to pay for it. But how much? Let&#8217;s try to figure it out.      &laquo; Facebook &#8220;Flyers&#8221; priced at $2&nbsp;CPM [...]</p>
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		<title>Comment on Facebook &#8220;Flyers&#8221; priced at $2 CPM by peter_k_lee</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2007/10/12/facebook-flyers-priced-at-2-cpm/#comment-244</link>
		<dc:creator>peter_k_lee</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 31 Oct 2007 05:46:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2007/10/12/facebook-flyers-priced-at-2-cpm/#comment-244</guid>
		<description>I&#039;ve decided to start my own &quot;test&quot; of Facebook Flyers.

10/29/2007 - Added a flyer with a bid of $0.05.  There were 5 impressions after 24 hours.  No clickers.  May be my bid is too low for the flyer to be shown?

BTW, as I was adding the flyer, I learned that once your ad is created, you cannot change the creative (wording, picture, clickthru URL).  You can only change the CPC bid.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;ve decided to start my own &#8220;test&#8221; of Facebook Flyers.</p>
<p>10/29/2007 &#8211; Added a flyer with a bid of $0.05.  There were 5 impressions after 24 hours.  No clickers.  May be my bid is too low for the flyer to be shown?</p>
<p>BTW, as I was adding the flyer, I learned that once your ad is created, you cannot change the creative (wording, picture, clickthru URL).  You can only change the CPC bid.</p>
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		<title>Comment on Thinking about advertising on your kids&#8217; school publications? by Mace Windu</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2006/07/27/thinking-about-advertising-on-your-kids-school-publications/#comment-8</link>
		<dc:creator>Mace Windu</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 10 Oct 2006 18:54:18 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2006/07/27/thinking-about-advertising-on-your-kids-school-publications/#comment-8</guid>
		<description>Well, there are two ways to interpret this high CPM..
1) they are ripping you off or 
2) they have a proven, extremely wealthy student body who have an open checkbook ready to spend.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Well, there are two ways to interpret this high CPM..<br />
1) they are ripping you off or<br />
2) they have a proven, extremely wealthy student body who have an open checkbook ready to spend.</p>
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		<title>Comment on PayPerPost pays bloggers to blog by peter_k_lee</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2006/07/06/payperpost-pays-bloggers-to-blog/#comment-4</link>
		<dc:creator>peter_k_lee</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 02 Oct 2006 05:42:03 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2006/07/06/payperpost-pays-bloggers-to-blog/#comment-4</guid>
		<description>Indeed, my blog was inspired by the (IMHO ridiculous) CPM that Mr. Belden received.  In my haste of setting up the blog and being a wordpress newbie, I forgot to update the About Me page.  I have done that now.  

Thank you for being my first commenter :-)</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Indeed, my blog was inspired by the (IMHO ridiculous) CPM that Mr. Belden received.  In my haste of setting up the blog and being a wordpress newbie, I forgot to update the About Me page.  I have done that now.  </p>
<p>Thank you for being my first commenter <img src='http://s.wordpress.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif' alt=':-)' class='wp-smiley' /> </p>
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		<title>Comment on Ad CPM on Rocketboom, circa January 2006 by Rocketboom CPM, then and now &#171; How much is that Eyeball in the Window?</title>
		<link>http://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2006/07/18/ad-cpm-on-rocketboom-circa-january-2006/#comment-3</link>
		<dc:creator>Rocketboom CPM, then and now &#171; How much is that Eyeball in the Window?</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 02 Oct 2006 05:35:31 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">https://eyeballinthewindow.wordpress.com/2006/07/18/ad-cpm-on-rocketboom-circa-january-2006/#comment-3</guid>
		<description>[...] Doing the math of $80K divided by 5 days of 350,000 views comes out to about $45 CPM. How much has changed since the January auction stunt?  It was $61.50 CPM then.  It seems like advertising rate is coming down.  Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized [...]</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>[...] Doing the math of $80K divided by 5 days of 350,000 views comes out to about $45 CPM. How much has changed since the January auction stunt?  It was $61.50 CPM then.  It seems like advertising rate is coming down.  Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized [...]</p>
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